Welcome to the ASM

The ASM is a not-for-profit organisation, formed in 1959 as a learned society devoted to furthering the science of microbiology. The ASM became an incorporated professional society in 1976.   

Notice of ASM Annual General Meeting

The 2018 annual general meeting will be held at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre on Tuesday 3rd July in Plaza Auditorium at 12:30pm. Click here to download the AGM Notice.

Congratulations to our 2018 Award Winners

Sam Manna

Jim Pittard Award

Pat Blackall

Lyn Gilbert Award

Prue Bramwell

David White Excellence in Teaching Award

Anton Peleg

Frank Fenner Award

Makrina Totsika

Frank Fenner Award

ASM Communication Ambassador program

The ASM Communication Ambassador program has recently been featured in the Science Communication themed Issue of the Journal of Microbiology & Biology Education (JMBE).  This showcases the excellent work our Communication Ambassadors have been carrying out on behalf of the society for the last 4 years.

We would like to thank all of our Communication Ambassadors past and present for their ongoing contributions to the society. The direct link to the article can be accessed here: http://www.asmscience.org/content/journal/jmbe/10.1128/jmbe.v19i1.1428


logo ASM2018 QLD finalRGB


educon image


asm national office 1